it’s kind of a funny story – book review

“I don’t know how I can be so ambitious and so lazy at the same time.”

I’ve been handicapped by my own laziness, I won’t deny that.

‘It’s Kind of a Funny Story’ has been on my ‘to buy’ books ever since I laid my eyes on the cover. So when the opportunity gave it’s way, I bought it without a second thought.

In this young adult novel tackles the life and experience of Craig Gilner who struggles to keep up with the competitive environment of his new prestigious  school. Craig solves the stress as his suicidal thoughts, poor sleeping habits and eating disorder through a smart move, getting himself admitted at his nearest psychiatric hospital. While there, Craig’s neighbors at the psychiatric ward and road to recovery reveals a kind of a funny story. (get it?)

248704

5/5 stars.

“Things to do today:
1) Breathe in.
2) Breathe out.”

An amazing touch that made me gave this book 5 stars is the fact that the writer, Ned Vizzini, spent his time in an adult psychiatric hospital (much like the main character) for about a month and when he got out, proceeded to write this novel. With his experience, no wonder did the novel seem believable and realistic. Too realistic that the themes of suicide and mental disorders are ever so present. And it’s absolutely a not a bad idea. Craig, the narrator of the novel, has a therapist, took his medicine prescribed with his illness and had his struggles. But what made me his character relatable was his thought of what success really is, insecurities and hopelessness that his disorder won’t get him anywhere where he needs to be. Although along the lines, he did however discover what he soon wants to be. He even found out what he’s good at doing and might as well continue doing it.

large

There’s a movie adaptation of this book that I will eventually watch sooner or later. So I don’t know how much is the book closely related to the movie.

In the end, if the main character of a novel can get a life worth living, then I can complete other 2nd sem requirements soon (or later).

 

Leave a Reply

